WellSpan Medical Education


Brief History of the WellSpan York Hospital Family Medicine Residency

Prepared by Stacey Robert, MD
May, 2015

In December 1968, York Hospital sponsored one of the first residencies in the emerging specialty of family practice. The Family Practice Center opened in March, 1969 under the direction of Dr. Thomas M. Hart, who moved his private practice to the residency. The first FPC was located in the ground floor of the Catherine Dale building. In 1970, the residency produced its first graduating class of three physicians, all of whom remained in York County until they retired.

The residency leadership increased the size of the program to a 6-6-6 program in 1976. When the practice outgrew its initial home in 1989, it was moved to the ground floor of the Marie Ketterman building, where it is located today. The Center was named in memory of Dr. Thomas M. Hart, the residency’s first program director.

In 1999 the residency increase in size to an 8-8-8 program and the family practice center underwent a major renovation and expansion. All residency administrative staff, resident workspace, and faculty offices moved to the first floor of the Marie Ketterman Building, directly above the clinical operations. A new stairwell was added to connect the two spaces.

The faculty has been very stable over the 38 years of operation. There have been only six program directors:

1968 to 1973 Thomas M. Hart, MD
1973 to 1978 Philip Roseberry, MD
1978 to 1989 Charles E. Schlager, MD
1989 to 2002 Richard W. Sloan, MD
2002 to 2011 Bruce M. Bushwick, MD
2011 to present Stacey Robert, MD

The residency has graduated 280 family physicians. Eleven residents have been awarded the AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education. Our alumni practice medicine throughout the United States and the world.

Among their ranks are traditional full spectrum family physicians, international mission physicians, academicians, and administrators. One of our graduates, Dr. David Loxterkamp, was the subject of the cover article in LIFE magazine in June, 1998 (What Makes a Good Doctor, Practicing Medicine the Old-Fashioned Way).

Another, Matthew Hahn, was Maryland’s 2007 Outstanding Rural Health Practitioner and was a runner up for the AAFP family physician of the year. Many of our graduates remain in York County to practice family medicine and to serve in community leadership roles.

Currently, our graduates include:

  • The president of WellSpan Gettysburg Hospital and board member of the WellSpan Gettysburg Hospital Foundation (K. Mosser)
  • Executive VP - Clinical Practice WellSpan Medical Group (T. McGann)
  • A WellSpan York Hospital board of directors member (C. Carpenter)
  • The Director of the York City Health Department (D. Hawk)
  • The WellSpan York Hospital Family Medicine Residency program director (B. Bushwick)
  • The medical director of the WellSpan York Hospital Community Health Center (C. Echterling)
  • A member of the South Central Preferred Board of Directors (N. Kinley)
  • Two members of the WellSpan Medical Group Board of Directors (R. Salter, C. Heilman, T. McGann)
  • The Medical Director of the Health Connect (mobile medical) van (S. Robert)
  • York Provider Network Board (C. Carpenter)
  • Wellspan Health Services Board (K. Mosser)
  • The President and Board member of York County Medical Society (S. Robert)

Many of our graduates currently serve as community preceptors and inpatient service teaching attendings. Three others served full terms as the WellSpan York Hospital Medical Staff president. Our current residents are among the most respected and valued in the hospital.


Notice of Rights Under Federal Conscience and Anti-Discrimination Laws

WellSpan Health and all WellSpan Hospitals comply with applicable Federal conscience and antidiscrimination laws prohibiting exclusion, adverse treatment, coercion, or other discrimination against individuals or entities on the basis of their religious beliefs or moral convictions. You may have the right under Federal law to decline to perform, assist in the performance of, refer for, undergo, or pay for certain health care-related treatments, research, or services (such as abortion or assisted suicide, among others) that violate your conscience, religious beliefs, or moral convictions.

 If you believe that WellSpan Health or any WellSpan Health Hospital has failed to accommodate your conscientious, religious, or moral objection, or has discriminated against you on those grounds, you can file a conscience and religious freedom complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf or by mail or phone at: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue SW, Room 509F, HHH Building Washington, DC 20201, 1–800–368–1019, 800–537–7697 (TDD). Complaint forms and more information about Federal conscience and anti-discrimination laws are available at http://www.hhs.gov/conscience.

A copy of the complete rule and OCR’s explanatory text, as published in the Federal Register, is available at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-05-21/pdf/2019-09667.pdf.

Are you sure you would like to cancel?

All information will be lost.

Yes No ×